Muse alternatives: personal AI agents compared
In a few months, every big AI company shipped an agent that works for you in the background. Here’s how Meta’s Muse compares with OpenAI’s dots, Google’s Gemini Spark, xAI’s Grok Bot, the startup Instinct and two lighter options, all from each company’s own pages.
Quick answer
The main Muse alternatives are OpenAI’s dots, Google’s Gemini Spark, xAI’s Grok Bot and the startup Instinct. All work in the background on your behalf. Dots (from $100/month with ChatGPT Pro) and Grok Bot lean toward work. Gemini Spark ($19.99/month with Google AI Pro) suits people who live in Gmail and Docs and works in far more countries. Instinct is invite-only and works by text. Muse is the only one with a free plan, but it’s limited to the US and Canada.
About this page
Not testedWe’ve tested Muse on our own account but haven’t used the other agents. Their details come from each company’s own announcements and help pages (TechCrunch for Instinct), checked October 2, 2026. Prices are US prices. See how we label evidence.
The agents at a glance
| Agent | Company | Launched | Price to get it | Where | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse | Meta | Sept 8, 2026 | Free (limited); $20 or $100/mo1 | US, Canada | Personal errands, inbox, shopping |
| Dots | OpenAI | Sept 29, 2026 | ChatGPT Pro from $100/mo; Business Premium; Enterprise2 | “Eligible markets” | Work in ChatGPT, Slack, Teams |
| Gemini Spark | May 19, 2026 | Google AI Pro ($19.99/mo) or Ultra38 | Most Gemini countries except EEA, UK, Switzerland, Nigeria | Gmail, Docs and Google apps | |
| Grok Bot | xAI | Aug 11, 2026 | The X Subscription (new buyers, since Oct 12) or existing SuperGrok and Cursor plans114 | Not listed | Teams of agents for repeatable work |
| Instinct | Instinct (startup) | Aug 2026 | Not disclosed; invite-only5 | Not disclosed | Errands by text and phone |
OpenAI dots
OpenAI says dots are “always-on agents,” each with its own cloud computer and browser, powered by GPT-6 Astra and connected to over 4,000 apps through plugins. You talk to your dot in ChatGPT, Slack or Teams. They’re rolling out on Pro, Business Premium and Enterprise plans.2 Choose dots over Muse if your work runs through Slack, Teams or ChatGPT and you already pay for Pro. Full comparison: Muse vs dots.
Google Gemini Spark
Full head-to-head: Muse vs Gemini Spark.
Google calls Spark “a 24/7 personal AI agent.” It runs as a cloud-based agent on Gemini 3.5, works with Gmail, Docs and Slides, and is “designed to ask you first before performing high-stakes actions like spending money or sending emails.”6 It launched for Google AI Ultra in May, reached US Google AI Pro subscribers on July 16, and Google says it’s available wherever Gemini Apps are supported except the European Economic Area, Nigeria, Switzerland and the UK. You must be 18 or older.39 Choose Spark over Muse if your life runs on Google’s apps, or you live outside the US and Canada.
xAI Grok Bot
xAI describes Grok Bot as “AI teammates you can give real work to.” Each bot has its own cloud computer and keeps working when you’re away, coming back “when something needs your approval.” It came with SuperGrok plans and some Cursor plans, with its own usage separate from those plans, on macOS, iOS and Android.410 On October 12, 2026, the company (now SpaceXAI) replaced those offers for new buyers with “The X Subscription”: Free, Plus $8, Premium $30, Super $100 and Ultra $200 a month. It says “Nothing changes” for existing SuperGrok, Cursor or X Premium subscribers.11 ReportedThe announcement doesn’t list which tiers include Grok Bot. Third-party guides say it starts at Premium ($30). Choose Grok Bot over Muse if you want several role-based agents for work, or you already use SuperGrok or Cursor.
Instinct
ReportedTechCrunch describes Instinct as a consumer agent that books travel, makes purchases, pays bills and cancels subscriptions, using its own phone number and computer. It launched invite-only in August 2026, works over text with no mobile app yet, and adds a “concierge” that makes phone calls. TechCrunch also reported that its first privacy policy drew criticism for overreach and has since been updated.5 On October 5 it added group chats, which work even for friends without an account, rolling out to early-access users first.12 Consider Instinct if you can get an invite and prefer texting an agent to using an app.
Lighter options that don’t need a new subscription
- Meta AI, Meta’s free assistant in WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and Messenger, gained agent features in July 2026. It doesn’t have Muse’s own cloud computer. See Muse vs Meta AI.7
- ChatGPT Work takes action across your apps and files for longer projects; ChatGPT Free includes limited access in the desktop app. See Muse vs ChatGPT.
How to choose
- Lowest cost
- Muse (free plan) if you’re in the US or Canada; otherwise Gemini Spark on Google AI Pro.
- Outside the US and Canada
- Gemini Spark covers the most countries Google lists. Muse isn’t available yet.
- Work and teams
- Dots for Slack and Teams; Grok Bot for multiple role-based agents.
- Personal errands
- Muse, or Instinct if you have an invite.
- Most cautious choice
- Whichever you pick, keep approvals on and connect as few accounts as you need. Every one of these agents is months old.
Sources
- About Muse subscriptions Meta Help Center
- Introducing dots OpenAI · Sept 29, 2026
- Use Google AI Ultra benefits (Gemini Spark availability) Google One Help · checked Oct 2, 2026
- Grok Bot is now included with more plans xAI · Aug 26, 2026
- Viral AI agent Instinct raises $1B Series C at a $10B valuation TechCrunch · Sept 28, 2026
- The Gemini app becomes more agentic Google · May 19, 2026
- Meta AI doesn’t just think, it acts Meta Newsroom · July 24, 2026
- Gemini Spark rolling out to Google AI Pro users in the US 9to5Google · July 23, 2026
- What’s new for Gemini Spark Gemini Apps Help · checked Oct 2, 2026
- Introducing Grok Bot xAI · Aug 11, 2026
- Introducing The X Subscription SpaceXAI · Oct 12, 2026
- Instinct brings its AI agent to group chats TechCrunch · Oct 5, 2026
Last checked: 2026-10-15. This market changes weekly. Spotted a change? Tell us.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best alternative to Meta Muse?
Is there a free alternative to Muse?
Which personal AI agent works outside the US?
What is Instinct AI?
Instinct is an invite-only personal agent from a San Francisco startup. It launched in August 2026 and works by text and phone, using its own phone number. TechCrunch reported a $1 billion funding round at a $10 billion valuation on September 28, 2026.5
